Slut Shaming

by kmaradiaga1

Boy, oh boy is this a interesting topic. Growing up as a female I like many others, have endured name-calling and being criticized for little things that I never gave attention to. As I got older my mentality on “sluts” has significantly seeing how women have easily become a target for people to name call really has upset me. Granted promiscuity isn’t anything to be proud of but also why is it so negative? By societal standards I am no means promiscuous or considered a slut but the reasons for this name-calling seems unjust in my opinion. For starters, just saying you had relations with A person, people automatically assume you have with sixty others. That is definitely not the case with most females I have spoken to. Secondly, clothing as an issue. When a woman decides to wear something it is HER choice. By no means it an invitation for you to insult her, it may not be your taste but it’s not your life to dictate. Third and the most irritating, is when a woman is known to have multiple relations with men. What is the big deal? We deal with such a double standard that I personally can’t bring myself to call someone out on what men have been okay doing for centuries. Another item that upsets me : catcalling. I do not want any of your attention no matter how much you “think” I want to hear it.

FullSizeRender (1)

I wouldn’t mind walking down the street without someone catcalling anyone.

